Elliott wins 2A Championship

Nathan Ham

February 24, 2014

Senior wrestler Michael Elliott brought home the fifth state championship in Ashe County High School history on Saturday in Greensboro.

After falling short in the championship match last year, Elliott was able to get over the hump and will have his name on a banner in the ACHS gymnasium.

Elliott joins Derrick Miller (2001, 103-pounds), Austin Mikeal (2002, 140-pounds), Aaron Scott (2009, 140-pounds) and Josh Wineberg (2012, 285-pounds) in the elite company of state championship winners.

After winning the 2A Midwest Regional last week, Elliott’s run to the championship started with a 20-3 technical fall win over Gerald Watkins from Burlington-Cummings.

In the quarterfinals, Elliott scored an 8-1 decision win over Newton-Conover’s Nathan Reitzel, the second seed from the western regional.

With only four wrestlers remaining to compete for the 152-pound championship, two matches remained to decide who would compete for the championship on Saturday.

Western regional top seed Paul Carson from Hunter Huss faced off against east champ Brody McGrath from Croatan. McGrath pinned Carson with just 20 seconds remaining in the match.

Elliott faced Angel Najar, the second seed out of the east from North Pitt High School. Elliott beat Najar by a 4-1 decision.

In the championship match, Elliott battled McGrath down to the wire and pulled off the 4-2 decision win.

The Huskies had two other grapplers competing in the state championship tournament.

195-pounder Shawn Baker lost to South Granville’s Austin Brogden in the first round before dropping his first match in the consolation round to Charlie Bosshard of Hendersonville.

Mitchell Brown had to face top seeded and undefeated Tywon Bond of Holmes HS and was pinned at the 2:29 mark of the match. In the consolation rounds, Bartlett Yancey’s William Pressley pinned Brown with nine seconds left in the first period.

1A State Champions:

106 – Irvin Portugal (Robbinsville)

113 – David Guevara (Tarboro)

120 – Zack Orr (Robbinsville)

126 – James Dagget (Chatham Central)

132 – Ty Franklin (Avery County)

138 – Chris Jaeger (Chatham Central)

145 – Derrick Woodie (East Wilkes)

152 – Justin Todd (Alleghany)

160 – Frank LaDew (Bishop-McGuinness)

170 – Daniel Bomar (Mitchell County)

182 – Malachi Beaver (Murphy)

195 – Spencer McCoy (Swain County)

220 – Taylor Nester (Alleghany)

285 – Jervon Faison (Trask-Heide)

2A State Champions:

106 – Ray-Shun Moore (Thomasville)

113 – Grant Hall (Croatan)

120 – Brandon Reynolds (West Wilkes)

126 – Jacob Houck (West Caldwell)

132 – Nicauzi Mitchell (T.W. Andrews)

138 – Joby Armenta (Southwest Onslow)

145 – Dalton Clark (Providence Grove)

152 – Michael Elliott (Ashe County)

160 – Zach Winegardner (Southwest Onslow)

170 – Andrew Brotherton (Bandys)

182 – Diego Martinez (Ayden-Grifton)

195 – Mack George (West Lincoln)

220 – Kyle Guins (Bunker Hill)

285 – Dakota Bell (North Wilkes)

3A State Champions:

106 – Logan Durham (South Rowan)

113 – Mitchel Langford (North Henderson)

120 – Heath Gleaton (Central Cabarrus)

126 – Troy Gregor (Hickory Ridge)

132 – Jacob Grigg (East Gaston)

138 – Billy Benfield (Sun Valley)

145 – Ben Bullins (Morehead)

152 – Drake Patrum (Southern Guilford)

160 – Logan Farlowe (Sun Valley)

170 – David Peters-Logue (Orange)

182 – Willie Bivens (Eastern Guilford)

195 – Wood Mancuso (West Carteret)

220 – Michael Simonovich (North Buncombe)

285 – Joseph Sculthorpe (Topsail)

4A State Champions:

106 – Paton Jenkins (Parkland)

113 – Drew Turner (Parkland)

120 – Richard Tolston (Jack Britt)

126 – Irvin Enriquez (Pinecrest)

132 – Demetre Kostis (Watauga)

138 – Will Clark (Cary)

145 – Nashid Barrow (Wake Forest)

152 – Bryant Halsch (Southeast Guilford)

160 – Jaquon Sowell (Riverside)

170 – Bryce Walker (Ragsdale)

182 – Malik McDonald (South View)

195 – DeAndre Jones (New Bern)

220 – Thomas Rodriquez (Parkland)

285 – Adam Olsen (High Point Central)

*Nathan Ham can be reached at (336) 846-7164 or on Twitter @NathanHam87