Sibaja earns district ‘Teacher of the Year’ honors

By Adam Orr -

(Photo submitted) Lisa Sibaja was recently named Ashe County’s 2017 Teacher of the Year.

JEFFERSON-Mountain View Elementary’s Lisa Sibaja was recently named the district’s 2017 Teacher of the Year.

That news according to a May 10, announcement by Ashe County School’s Central Office.

Sibaja has served Mountain View’s population of English Language Learners since August 2015.

“This truly shows what a remarkable teacher, leader and person Mrs. Sibaja is that her fellow teachers would select her as a teacher of the year after only being in the school for less than two years,” according to a press release issued by Ashe County Schools. “She has the ability to make a great impact on both her students and peers. Mrs. Sibaja states in her portfolio that her motivation is to help empower others to succeed. She strives to foster connections whereby students, teacher and families are excited to be part of Mountain View School.”

For the past 19 years, Sibaja’s careers has included stops in North Carolina, Maryland, Virginia and Buenos Aires, Argentina.

She got her start as an art educator, and holds a master’s degree in art education and additional studies in Spanish and English as a Second Language.

The teacher of the year at each school is selected by their teaching peers.

Those nominated in 2017 included Steve Scott, CTE teacher at Ashe High; George Zeller, language arts/social studies teacher at Ashe Middle; Elizabeth Lauer, art teacher at Blue Ridge Elementary; Kevin Miller, PE teacher at Westwood Elementary in addition to Sibaja.

The Ashe County Schools Teacher of Year is chosen through a process that includes a written portfolio and an interview. This year’s selection committee included members from the school and community. Those members were Jaydn Trivett, Alecia Giles, Sandra Peterson, Sheila Johnson, Kate Yates and Lawrence Goodman.

For more than 50 years our nation has honored teachers with the National Teacher of the Year Program. The National Teacher of the Year Program, sponsored by the Voya Financial, Inc., is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers.

Since 1970, North Carolina has participated in this program recognizing outstanding teachers. The Teacher of the Year program provides an opportunity to honor and recognize exemplary teachers in North Carolina and to call attention to the importance of the teaching profession. Mrs. Sibaja will compete with teachers in the Northwest Region for the title of Region 7 Teacher of the Year in the fall.

(Photo submitted) Lisa Sibaja was recently named Ashe County’s 2017 Teacher of the Year. submitted) Lisa Sibaja was recently named Ashe County’s 2017 Teacher of the Year.

By Adam Orr

comments powered by Disqus