Last updated: January 06. 2014 9:36AM - 681 Views
By - nham@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

This college football season marked the final year of the much-maligned Bowl Championship Series (BCS).

Who knew that this year would be the one that we can all say that we finally saw some really good games that the voters and the computer systems decided on.

Of the four BCS games played as of press time, all four were very close the whole way or at least into the fourth quarter, and all four saw the underdog team come away with the win. Michigan State, Central Florida, Oklahoma and Clemson all won their BCS games over their opponents who were the favorites in each respective contest (Stanford, Baylor, Alabama and Ohio State).

The BCS was instituted in 1998 to eliminate split national champions between the Associated Press Poll and the Coaches’ Poll, as was the case in the 1997-98 season when Michigan and Nebraska both finished undefeated and shared the title.

Next season, for the first time ever, the largest division of college football will finally have a playoff system.

Although it will only include four teams, hopefully for those of us that live for Saturdays to watch our favorite college teams play, it will be the start of a larger playoff field that we have seen for years already in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), NCAA Division 2 and NCAA Division 3 football.

It only makes sense to have a playoff system when all levels of football above and below the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) have playoffs, even down to youth football and middle school football.

Beginning this coming season, a playoff committee will choose the four teams to compete for the national championship, based on records, strength of schedule and other areas to measure just how good a team is.

The initial committee has 13 members, and includes Arkansas Athletic Director Jeff Long, former Wisconsin Head Coach Barry Alvarez, Lt. Gen. Michael Gould (former Superintendent of the United States Air Force), USC Athletic Director Pat Haden, Tom Jernstedt (former Executive Vice President of the NCAA), West Virginia Athletic Director Oliver Luck, former NFL quarterback Archie Manning, Tom Osborne (former Nebraska Head Coach and Athletic Director), Clemson Athletic Director Dan Radakovich, Condoleezza Rice (former Secretary of State), Mike Tranghese (former Big East Commissioner), Steve Wieberg (former USA Today sports reporter) and Tyrone Willingham (former head coach at Stanford, Notre Dame and Washington).

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

West Jefferson Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com