Seven Lady Huskies make all-conference team

Nathan Ham | Jefferson Post – Senior sweeper Olivia Brettschneider was one of seven Ashe County players to receive all-conference recognition from the MVAC.

WEST JEFFERSON — Following another Mountain Valley Athletic Conference Championship, it’s no surprise that the Lady Huskies led all MVAC schools with seven all-conference performers.

Head coach Wes Rousseau was not left out of the mix either as he was named MVAC Coach of the Year.

West Wilkes standout Cassie Burdiss took home MVAC Player of the Year honors.

Three Ashe County seniors, Olivia Brettschneider, Tyler Eller and Taylor May were voted to the all-conference team while underclassmen teammates Bekah Bowers, Valerie Keys, Mahala Land and Melissa Ramos joined them on the squad.

Ashe also had a pair of honorable mention selections. Alexis Parks and Alyssa Peterson represented the Lady Huskies.

MVAC All-Conference

Brooke Bentley (Wilkes Central)

Bekah Bowers (Ashe)

Olivia Brettschneider (Ashe)

Cassie Burdiss (West Wilkes)

Makayla Dimmette (Elkin)

Tyler Eller (Ashe)

Abbie Flores (Elkin)

Melia Higgins (East Wilkes)

Emily Hill (North Wilkes)

Valerie Keys (Ashe)

Mahala Land (Ashe)

Olivia Leapley (North Wilkes)

Amanda Limon (West Wilkes)

Sierra Massucco (Wilkes Central)

Taylor May (Ashe)

Amanda O’Donnell Starmount)

Melissa Ramos (Ashe)

Savannah Rush (Wilkes Central)

Brooke Schubart (East Wilkes)

Holly Swofford (Wilkes Central)

Mattie Timmerman (Elkin)

Elizabeth Walker (West Wilkes)

Honorable mention

Karla Fuentes (Elkin)

Amber Hurst (Starmount)

Jasmine Kimber (Alleghany)

Molly Kolstad (Wilkes Central)

Brittney Johnson (North Wilkes)

Maddi Lester (East Wilkes)

Claire Maske (Starmount)

Rosa Munoz-Maya (North Wilkes)

Sarah Mizelle (Wilkes Central)

Dakota Nichols (West Wilkes)

Alexis Parks (Ashe)

Haily Parsons (West Wilkes)

Alyssa Peterson (Ashe)

Arwyn Shoemaker (Elkin)

Laura Walker (Alleghany)

Maggie Weatherman (East Wilkes)

Nathan Ham can be reached at 336-846-7164 or followed on Twitter @NathanHam87

comments powered by Disqus