Huskies wrestle in Old Appalachian Invitational

By Nathan Ham -

BOONE — Wrestling season got underway on Saturday for the Ashe County Huskies. The team made the trip to Watauga for the annual Old Appalachian Invitational.

The Huskies had wrestlers that competed in nine weight classes against 14 other schools.

Ashe’s top finish of the day went to John Reavis in the 170-pound division. Reavis brought home third place after pinning Chandler Adams of West Wilkes in 3:32.

Zach Bare reached the third place match, but was pinned by Drew Andrews of Maiden in 49 seconds.

Ashe County results

106: Josh Shore (Davie) pinned Trent Baker (Ashe) in 1:18.

106: Graham Ormand (St. Stephens) pinned Baker (Ashe) in 2:41.

132: Jontae Fant (St. Stephens) defeated Brady Buchanan by a 6-4 sudden victory decision.

132: Cody Farmer (Forbush) defeated Buchanan (Ashe).

138: Blake Hurley (Ashe) pinned Devin Myers (Maiden) in 1:26.

138: Cameron Reynolds (West Wilkes) pinned Hurley (Ashe) in 1:41.

138: Peyton Sherrill (Davie) pinned Hurley (Ashe) in 2:19.

152: Hunter Strickland (Davie) pinned Harley Miller (Ashe) in 27 seconds.

152: Miller (Ashe) defeated Sam Foley (Alleghany) by an 8-3 decision.

152: Joshua Beard (Maiden) pinned Miller (Ashe) in 1:14.

152: Miller (Ashe) pinned Juan Marroquin (West Wilkes) in 2:00.

160: Dilyn Roudesbush (Mooresville) pinned Preston Mash (Ashe) in 1:26.

160: Crayton Wise (Davie) pinned Mash (Ashe) in 30 seconds.

170: John Reavis (Ashe) pinned Gavin Whalen (Mooresville) in 26 seconds.

170: Kyle McCune (Davie) pinned Reavis (Ashe) in 2:24.

170: Reavis (Ashe) pinned Dakota Metcalf (St. Stephens) in 3:49.

170: Reavis (Ashe) pinned Chandler Adams (West Wilkes) in 3:32.

182: Ethan Yelton (RS Central) defeated Jake Shepherd (Ashe) by a 5-3 decision.

182: Shepherd (Ashe) defeated Cesar Catalan (Wilkes Central) by a 17-7 major decision.

182: Salvador Gilvaja (St. Stephens) defeated Shepherd (Ashe) by a 9-5 decision.

182: Shepherd (Ashe) pinned Kishaun Wideman (Watauga) in 2:32.

195: Neicolah Klein (Mooresville) pinned Isaac Miller (Ashe) in 1:47.

195: Bailey Clayton (Maiden) pinned Miller (Ashe) in 1:28.

220: Zach Bare (Ashe) pinned Ben Oaks (Watauga) in 1:26.

220: Joey Dysart (RS Central) pinned Bare (Ashe) in 1:46.

220: Bare (Ashe) pinned Marterion Howell (Alexander Central).

220: Drew Andrews (Maiden) pinned Bare (Ashe) in 49 seconds.

Division champions

106: William Walker (West Wilkes)

113: Hunter Smith (Davie)

120: Caleb Price (Forbush)

126: Edwin Alvarenga (Forbush)

132: Silas Shaw (Mooresville)

138: Cameron Reynolds (West Wilkes)

145: Britt Weaver (Alleghany)

152: Ethan Lewis (Alexander Central)

160: Christian Romero (Alexander Central)

170: Caleb Spears (RS Central)

182: Salvador Gilvaga (St. Stephens)

195: Jesse Carter (Davie)

220: Luis Herrera (McDowell)

285: Josh Beltran (St. Stephens)

Nathan Ham can be reached at 336-489-3062.

By Nathan Ham

comments powered by Disqus