Ashe wrestlers pick up first win

By Nathan Ham -

NEWLAND — The Ashe County Huskies took part in a quad match at Avery County on Tuesday evening. Ashe scored one win and had a pair of close losses in the team’s third match of the season.

Morganton-Patton 33, Ashe 31

Patton held on for a slim victory, but it was most definitely a successful match for the Huskies.

All but one of Patton’s wins came by forfeit with Ashe winning six of the seven contested matches.

106: Trent Baker (Ashe) pinned Cameron Thomas (Patton) in 47 seconds.

113: No match

120: No match

126: Zeb Patton (Patton) won by forfeit

132: Andrew Clark (Patton) defeated Cody Mullis (Ashe) by a 6-4 sudden victory decision.

138: Cody Munger (Patton) won by forfeit

145: Jeremiah Carcamo (Patton) won by forfeit.

152: Harley Miller (Ashe) pinned Dylan Rhodes (Patton) in 1:18.

160: John Reavis (Ashe) defeated Trip Berry (Patton) by a 13-5 major decision.

170: Preston Mash (Ashe) defeated Daniel Hernandez (Patton) by an 11-7 decision.

182: Jake Shepherd (Ashe) pinned Troy Gragg (Patton) in 56 seconds.

195: Zach Bare (Ashe) pinned Michael Day (Patton) in 4:48.

220: Greg Munger (Patton) won by forfeit.

285: Cody Shambree (Patton) won by forfeit.

Ashe 47, Watauga 12

The Huskies got their first dual team victory of the young season in their second match of the evening.

106: Baker (Ashe) won by forfeit.

113: No match

120: No match

126: CJ Ward (Watauga) won by forfeit.

132: Mullis (Ashe) defeated Elian Corrales-Escobar (Watauga) by a 23-8 technical fall.

138: Drake Elliott (Ashe) won by forfeit.

145: No match

152: Miller (Ashe) pinned Jed Willingham (Watauga) in 43 seconds.

160: Reavis (Ashe) won by forfeit.

170: Mash (Ashe) won by forfeit.

182: Shepherd (Ashe) pinned Kishaun Wideman (Watauga) in 3:53.

195: Bare (Ashe) won by forfeit.

220: Ben Oaks (Watauga) won by forfeit.

285: No match

Avery 54, Ashe 24

In the final match of the day, Avery County was able to get the best of the Huskies with wins in all but four weight classes.

106: Baker (Ashe) won by forfeit.

113: River Griffith (Avery) won by forfeit.

120: No match

126: Hunter Hicks (Avery) won by forfeit.

132: Mullis (Ashe) pinned Brennan Ramsey (Avery) in 3:03.

138: James Russ (Avery) won by forfeit.

145: Braedon Riley Deaton (Avery) won by forfeit.

152: Lucas Andrews (Avery) pinned Miller (Ashe) in 3:38.

160: Reavis (Ashe) pinned Edgar Castaneda (Avery) in 3:08.

170: Luis Arauz (Avery) pinned Mash (Ashe) in 3:56.

182: Shepherd (Ashe) won by forfeit.

195: Blake Williams (Avery) pinned Bare (Ashe) in 1:16.

220: Austin Duncan (Avery) won by forfeit.

285: Austin Hicks (Avery) won by forfeit.

Nathan Ham can be reached at 336-489-3062.

By Nathan Ham

comments powered by Disqus