Weekend racing update

SPARTA, Ky — It was a full schedule of racing results at Kentucky Speedway.

UNOH 225 Camping World Truck Series

Not even a full week since Austin Dillon’s car sailed into the catch fence at Daytona, the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series had to end Thursday night’s race five laps early because of an accident that sent Ben Kennedy’s truck into the catch fence.

The fencing was damaged beyond immediate repair, resulting in a premature conclusion to the 225-mile race. Matt Crafton was declared the winner.

Five of the top six finishers led all but one lap of the race with Erik Jones leading 55 laps but finishing in second place. Crafton led 43 laps and extended his points’ lead to 20 points of second place Tyler Reddick and Jones in third place. Crafton is the two-time defending champion.

Ryan Blaney finished third, Daniel Suarez was fourth and Timothy Peters was fifth. The rest of the top ten finishers were Reddick (sixth), David Gilliland (seventh), John Wes Townley (eighth), Cameron Hayley (ninth) and Brandon Jones (tenth).

Kentucky 300

In the Xfinity Series, the Ford of Brad Keselowski held off the Toyotas of Erik Jones, Kyle Busch and Daniel Suarez to get the victory.

For the second race in as many days, Jones finished in second place. Busch led the most laps (88) but had to settle for third. Keselowski led 72 circuits around the speedway and captured a win starting from the fourth position.

Polesitter J.J. Yeley struggled later in race and had to settle for an 18th place finish, two laps down.

The remainder of the top 10 finishers were Elliott Sadler (fifth), Paul Menard (sixth), Darrell Wallace Jr.(seventh), Dale Earnhardt Jr. (eighth), Brendan Gaughan (ninth) and Regan Smith (tenth).

Championship leader Chris Buescher was not much of a factor and had to take an 11th place finish. However, second place Chase Elliott and third place Ty Dillon could not make up any ground as they finished 13th and 15th, respectively.

Quaker State 400

Kyle Busch dominated the weekend finale at Kentucky by leading 163 of of the 267 laps and cruising to his second victory of the season.

Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Denny Hamlin (third), Carl Edwards (fourth) and Matt Kenseth (fifth) also had very strong finishes.

Joey Logano, who jumped up to third in the championship standings, finished in third overall.

Point standings leader and defending champion Kevin Harvick finished eighth and Jimmie Johnson took ninth.

Youngster Kyle Larson, who won the pole thanks to a great first practice that had him first overall, struggled as darkness took over the track and ended up with a 35th place finish, two laps off the pace of the leader.

Hickory Motor Speedway

4 cylinder feature race

1. Randy Canipe (Maiden)

2. Dennis Trivette (Newton)

3. Rob Lewis (Morganton)

4. Rodney Trivette (Newton)

5. Michael Tucker (Thomasville)

6. Candice Tucker (Thomasville)

7. Robert Trivette (Newton)

8. Curtis Pardue (Hickory)

9. Crystal Davis (Fort Mill, South Carolina)

Late Model feature race

1. Landon Huffman (Claremont)

2. Matt Piercy (Conover)

3. Mike Darne (Mooresville)

4. Dexter Canipe, Jr. (Conover)

5. Shane Lee (Newton)

6. Kevan Combs (Oak Ridge)

7. Dan Moore (Conover)

8. Baron Kuritzky (Connelly Springs)

Nathan Ham can be reached at 336-846-7164 or followed on Twitter @NathanHam87

comments powered by Disqus